KISS Me, Pantry!

Did I mention in my intro that I love to cook? Because I LOVE to cook. My affair with the kitchen really started as a way to eat more healthfully and morphed into a necessity to save money.

Regardless, when I started this blog, the one thing I didn’t want to do was a cooking blog. There are tons out there that I read and love and that do WAY better at it than I ever could, so I won’t even try to compete. However, you can probably expect to see a few recipes sneak in every now and again. That’s for another day, though.

One topic I promise you will see a lot of is saving money!

Who doesn’t need to save a little money these days, right? You’ll hear more about some things I’m already doing to save some dough in a later post, but one of my goals this year is to be a smarter grocery shopper.

It starts today, friends, with an inventory of my pantry.  And by pantry, I mean my one cabinet. 3 Roommates + 1 Kitchen = Notta Lotta Storage Space!How many times have you gone to the grocery store, saw something on wicked sale, picked up 3 only to realize that you already had two at home. Please tell me I’m not the only one who does that?

Before...Hot Mess!

Tonight I took everything out, took inventory, threw out anything that was stale/expired/moldy and rearranged. Then I did the same in the fridge and freezer.

Newly Organized!

It’s beautiful! I can’t believe how much extra room I have now!

From here, I’m going to take the (3 page!) list I created and turn it into a living Excel document. Well, “living” in the sense that I’ll update it as often as I remember. Which will totally be after every shopping trip… The goal is not only to keep track of what I have and cut down on double-buying, but also plan my menus around what I already have on hand.

Hopefully I can get an example up tomorrow.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to KISS Me, Pantry!

  1. moxiedoesit says:

    YEAH!! I support your cabinet organization! It looks great. I am trying to do a similar type of excel-sheet documentation! One of the things on my to-do list is compile a “living” (I like that!) record of the things I normally buy and how much they cost at the respective grocery stores around here, so I know where to go when I’m running low on various items and make shopping time more efficient.

    (P.S. I seems like our blogs are made with similar efforts in mind — exciting! I love to cook, too, but definitely find things like BudgetBytes to be much better than the effort I’d be able to make at this time.)

    • Kristin says:

      Oo…I love the idea of pricing things at local stores. That’s great!

      Budget Bytes is one of my favorites! In fact, I think I found your blog through a comment you left on hers when you mentioned something about Ann Arbor – I’m in Ann Arbor also 🙂

  2. Pingback: KISS Me, Grocery Shopping! | Keeping It SO Simple!

Leave a Reply

