KISS Me, Exercise!

Like many of us out there, I am struggling again this year to eat better, exercise more and hopefully, as a result, shed a few pounds. Now, I actually wasn’t planning on addressing this in my blog. At least, not directly and not so soon. I’ve come to realize over the years that there is no cute quick solution to drastically changing your eating and activity habits. It is, for me at least, a long and painful process and I have fallen off the wagon time and time again.

Sticking with an exercise routine has always been particularly challenging for me. Who wouldn’t rather sit on the couch watching an endless NCIS marathon than spend your precious time at the gym? Ok, fine…I know there are people out there who would choose the gym in a heartbeat and let me say I wish I was one of them! Several months ago, I decided I was going to do all the right things. I joined the gym right across the street from my office, I had a work-out buddy, we took classes together…and then she found a new boyfriend and it got cold outside and it all went to heck. I’m starting to get back into it in the new year, but it’s still a challenge.

I know what you’re thinking “ok, so, what are we taking about here? Get to the point, Kristin!” The point is that I did something REALLY EXCITING today! One of my co-workers and I took a Spinning class at lunch! At that gym across the street, they just happen to offer 30 minute classes at lunchtime. It was great! We were able to rush across the street, burn 300 calories, shower and rush back in only a little over an hour. It was easy, it didn’t disrupt the rest of my life (blogging and TV watching) and it was FUN!

So, what’s the moral of this little story? How am I going to tie it back to the theme of my blog? I think it’s that you have to take the small victories where you can. Exercising regularly may never be easy for me, but getting out of the office on a Tuesday to take a fun, energetic class with a friend is.

Sounds pretty simple when you put it that way, huh?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

