KISS Me, Grocery Shopping!

In an attempt to make make up for my gross spending indiscretion earlier this month, I decided I needed to do something to curb my spending for the rest of the month. My goal: try to drastically cut my grocery bill this week.

But how exactly was I going to do it? I thought about limiting the amount of money, but was afraid that wouldn’t be flexible enough. Then I thought maybe I would limit myself to only buying things out of the produce department, but then I remembered that I’ve been known to go a little hog-wild with fruits and veggies.

I landed on limiting myself to 5 items. That’s right. One week, 5 items. How did I do it? Click through for more details including this weeks full menu!


First of all, there’s no way I would have been able to get away with this without having a well-stocked and well organized pantry inventory. But, on to the menu! Below is my shopping list and how I’m using the five items. Remember, I’m cooking for one so I eat lots of leftovers. The “bought” items will be highlighted in the recipes.

Enjoy!

THE LIST
Apples (I counted 8 apples as 1 item since they ring up together. Is that cheating?)
1 large onion
1 lb Almonds, my trusty work snack
1 lb bag of frozen Italian Mix veggies
1 box pasta

And all for just under $12! Not too shabby!

THE RECIPES

Apple Spice Pork Chops
Adapted from this recipe featured on “Budget Bytes”

Ingredients:
2 pork chops
2 Tbsp vegetable oil
1/2 med onion
1 apple
1 Tbsp butter
1/4 tsp cinnamon
1/8 tsp nutmeg
1/2 tsp chicken bullion
1/2 C water

Chicken “Minestrone

Soup's on!

Didn’t use a recipe for this one, just threw in what I had on hand.

Ingredients:
1/2 split chicken breast, cooked and cubed
8 C chicken broth
1/4 C cooking sherry
1/4 C Marinara or Pizza sauce
1lb Italian Style mixed veggies
1/2 C diced onion
1/2 C diced green pepper
1 can diced tomatoes
1 can white beans
1 C small pasta (like Orzo)
1/2 tsp minced garlic
2 bay leaves
Italian seasoning, salt, pepper to taste.

Voila! I couldn’t have done this one without the frozen veggie mix. The one at my grocery store had green beans, cauliflower, zucchini, lima beans, carrots and a little red pepper.

Beef Stir Fry
Adapted from this recipe featured in “Dishing the Divine”. Belive it or not, I had everything I needed for this recipe on hand! 

Ingredients:
1 lb lean beef, cut into 2-inch-wide strips with the grain, then sliced across the grain in to 1/8-inch-thick slices
3 tbsp soy sauce
1 tbsp dry sherry
2 tbsp chicken broth
5 tbsp oyster-flavored sauce
1 tbsp light brown sugar
1 tsp sesame oil
1 tsp corn starch
6 medium garlic cloves, miced
Ground ginger, to taste
3 tbsp vegetable oil, divided
1 lb frozen stir-fry veggies
2/3 cup water

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

