KISS Me, No cook week!

Sadly, March has come and gone without much more success than February. At least, that’s what you would think if you’re still following this blog. Thank you, thank you, thank you to anyone out there still looking for new posts! Believe it or not, I have been up to some things, just haven’t had time to put them out on the blog-o-sphere. Coming soon, I promise!

On to the real post!

Have I mentioned here yet that I am in a long distance relationship? Nearly 4 years and 2000 miles. For someone who likes things simple, it sure does put a cramp in my style! Anyway, I bring it up because my main squeeze came to visit this week! I had him all to myself for 9 whole days and let me tell you, we ate a LOT! Granted, we ate out way more than we should have, but we also cooked a ton. So much, that I vow not to cook for the next week.

I know what you’re thinking…”but you love to cook!”, which is true, but I also love cooking smart. And sometimes that means cooking way too much so that every once in a while, I can take a night, weekend, or week off.

Ladies and gentlemen, I have reached that point. In fact, if I don’t, I’m pretty sure my fridge and freezer are going to burst at the seams. You would think, that since I’m cooking for one, I would be constantly cutting recipes in half, thirds, 8ths but that is just not the case.

Most times, I make the recipe as is, portion out what I think I’ll eat in a week, and throw the rest in the freezer for a rainy day. Sometimes I’ve even been known to double the recipe for things that freeze especially well! I try to freeze in double portions for easy reheating. As easy as a frozen meal, but for a fraction of the cost and way better for you!

Here’s what’s in my reserves right now:

Freezer reserves!

  • Veggie Chowder (3 servings – Lunch this week)
  • Chicken Curry (2 servings – Dinner this week)
  • Minestrone Soup (4 servings)
  • Chili (3-4 servings)
  • Lentil soup (2-3 servings – Lunch this week)
  • Home made egg rolls (20 some pieces)
  • Black bean burger mix (4 servings)
  • Angel hair pasta w/veggies (3 servings – Dinner this week)

Other things that are handy to have in stock:

  • A bag or two of frozen stir fry veggies – thaw and toss with your favorite sauce for a quick meal
  • Frozen (unbreaded) fish fillets – Tilapia is my favorite. You can defrost and cook in under half an hour
  • Individually frozen chicken breasts, pork chops, or cube steaks – again, can be defrosted and cooked relatively quickly. Freeze individual pieces of meat in your favorite marinade, and it will self marinade as it thaws!
  • Plain cous cous – cooks in 10 minutes, perfect canvas for what ever spices and seasonings you wish

If you don’t already I challenge you to start creating a nice stash in your freezer, too. Won’t it be nice to take a week off from cooking?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to KISS Me, No cook week!

  1. darlinjackie says:

    I also make a double recipe of spaghetti sauce just for this purpose. Boil the noodles, pour on the sauce, and Ta Da! An easy, delicious meal.

Leave a Reply

