KISS Me, Mornings!

I read an interesting tidbit in Real Simple magazine a few months ago — that making the bed in the morning was the number one small thing that made people happy. I didn’t believe it for a second.

I have never. Ever. Been a morning person. Just ask my mother how easy it was to get me out of bed growing up, and she’ll give you a mouthful for sure! To this day I will sacrifice just about anything for a few extra minutes of sleep in the morning.  Luckily for me, my office is pretty casual in regards to time-keeping, so no one makes a fuss if I come in 10-15 minutes late. However, this winter, things started to get a little out of control. I found myself pushing the 30-40 minute mark almost every day.

I knew I needed to shape up. Bite the bullet and start getting up earlier. Again, lucky for me, I had a little extra push to help me along the way.

I live in a rental house with two roommates and after almost a year of just tolerating each other, we’ve decided to go our separate ways. This means, of course, that our house is on the market for rent again and we have a near constant flow of strangers coming through for showings.

It’s a huge pain in the butt. Everything has to be clean all the time (which is challenging enough with 3 people, but even more challenging considering we also have my roommate’s 110lb dog in the mix) AND I feel compelled to make my bed almost every day. Which means I have to get up in time.

So far, I’m doing pretty well. This has been going on for a few weeks, but it just dawned on me to start collecting data over the last few days.

Here’s the evidence:

Went to bed (night before) Woke up Arrived at work
Wednesday* 11:00 pm 6:40 am 7:40 am (10 min late)
Thursday* 11:00 pm 7:00 am 8:00 am (30 min late)**
Friday 12:00 am 7:15 am 8:10 am (10 min late)

Notes:
*Wednesdays and Thursdays I have class and work from 7:30 – 4:30 instead of 8 – 5.
**I realize I was technically 30 minutes late on Thursday, but I only took half my lunch hour to make up for it. Cheating, I know.

Some other things that help me get up in the mornings:

  • I stopped using my cell phone as an alarm and started using my actual alarm clock instead. Which happens to be on the opposite side of the room from me.
  • Sadly, this still doesn’t stop me from hitting the snooze, but I try to limit myself to hitting it twice.
  • When my alarm goes off the first time, I turn on the reading light next to my bed (obviously, this doesn’t work as well when you have a significant other to sleep with)

Some things to still work towards:

  • When I first started my grad program, I shifted my schedule to 7:30 – 4:30 everyday. I’d like to get back to that as I think the consistency made it easier.
  • I would like to someday get in the habit of going to the gym before work. I think that’s a little too ambitious for me now, though.

As for making the bed every morning, I must admit, it does feel nice to get it done before leaving for work and it’s much nicer to get into at night. I still don’t do it on the rare day that there’s no showing, though.  I think maybe I should.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to KISS Me, Mornings!

  1. Love this post! Glad to see someone else has morning issues… If you ever do get to the gym before work be sure and let me know the trick 😉

Leave a Reply

