Coupon Crazy!

I’ve never been one to pay much attention to coupons. They always seemed like a lot of work for not much reward. As someone who has no issue with store brands, I never thought it was really worth it.

Then I saw Extreme Couponing on TLC. And I got so angry! These insane women with toilet paper mountains taking over their lives buy nothing but crap and MAKE MONEY! I knew I had to try it. Mostly so that I could prove that it wasn’t worth my time. I started with the Sunday paper, but decided to get a little more “extreme” and spent a few more bucks to buy a lot of coupons on Ebay (yes, they sell coupons on ebay! I probably won’t do that too often. I pulled about 10 out of a lot of 100)

I sat down with my circulars…and immediately felt overwhelmed until I found this website, which matches sales in my area to coupons. Even tells you where to get the coupon! I have to say, I think I did pretty good.

All my loot!

Coupon Loot!

I got all this stuff for only $35! Now, I may not be able to fill my basement with my “stockpile”, but it sure did fill up my 2 measly shelves in the pantry. I saved a total of $23, just under 40% and I’m pretty darn proud of myself.

Now, I know what you’re thinking. Or at least what I would be thinking – “You can’t make any meals out of that stuff!” Which is totally true, but I have a pretty well stocked pantry of staples already – meat, grains, beans, etc.

The verdict? Give coupons a chance! 🙂

Click to see my last two check-ins!

Goal: Eat only what I have in the house

Thursday, Nov 10

Sleep: Got up on time today!
Exercise: Nada
Food: Veggie egg scramble, banana, sunflower seeds, red beans and rice tacos with a little cheese and sour cream, 2 slices apple bread with butter, chocolate covered pretzels, 2 pieces of chocolate, lasagna, side salad, apple sauce, popcorn.
Water: Not enough
Vitamins: None today
Weather: First snow of the year! Thank goodness it didn’t stick

How I feel: Sore jaw 😦

Friday, Nov 11

Sleep: It was freezing in my room last night. Did not sleep well.
Exercise: Making 2 trips up 3 flights of stairs with my grocery loot counts, right? No? Fine. None then.
Food: Veggie egg scramble, banana, sunflower seeds, buttered noodles, apple sauce, pita & hummus, apple, lasagna, too many pieces of chocolate
Water: Definitely not enough
Vitamins: Nope
Weather: Cold!

How I feel: Tired, but my pants don’t feel as tight as they did on Tuesday.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Coupon Crazy!

  1. ihavetriedit says:

    Everyone talks about the extreme couponing show. I’ve never seen it. It must be pretty amazing! Thanks for stopping by my blog!

Leave a Reply

