New Goal – Tackling the Exercise Monster

Today I got to enjoy one of my most favorite Thanksgiving foods. The leftover turkey sandwich. Yum! I know some people like to put all the T-Day fixin’s on their sandwiches, but I like to keep mine simple – slices of breast meat, mustard and miracle whip (never mayo) and the all-important banana pepper rings on sourdough bread. Heaven! Had a big one for lunch as a reward for going to the gym this morning!

For some reason, I’ve woken up at 8am the last 2 days (unusual for a non-work day) and this morning I thought “huh…I could totally make it to 9am spinning this morning…” and then I promptly fell back asleep and snoozed until 8:45. I made it eventually, though, and walked on the “terrain” setting on the treadmill for 45 minutes. Of course, there was an older woman on the machine next to me who was totally smoking me, but I tried not to get too discouraged.

This brings me to my next goal: to get some kind of intentional exercise everyday for the next two weeks. Shopping does not count. I know it doesn’t seem like it, but I really do know and believe that regular exercise really is crucial to my overall health. I’ve had periods in my life where I’ve been able to stick to it regularly, and it really does make me feel good. I sleep better, I eat less, my clothes fit better…and yet I can’t seem to make exercise a part of my life.

I don’t know if I need to figure out what it is I like to do, or just accept that I don’t like it that much and suck it up. I don’t hate spinning, but it would be a bit expensive to go more than once or twice a week. I’ve considered getting a subscription to audible.com so I can listen to audio books on the treadmill. Does anyone already do this? How do you like it?

Wish me luck on this one, guys. I’m going to need it!
Here’s today’s stats:

Goal: Exercise

Sleep: Sleeping in my own bed was awesome.
Exercise: “Terrain” Walk on the treadmill!
Food: Pumpkin bread, Turkey sandwich, more pumpkin bread, leftover green bean casserole, Nut Thins, Chili’s Quesadilla salad and too many chips.
Water: Pretty good.
Vitamins: Still haven’t brought any home from work.
Weather: Surprisingly warm!

How I feel: Pretty good!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to New Goal – Tackling the Exercise Monster

  1. Do your public libraries have a digital department? If so, you may be able to get audio books through them for use on your computer/ipod/etc.
    Don’t fret about the older folks smoking you at the gym! You have probably made her day by her being able to show you up! Plus you got your endorphin boost so hopefully you came out feeling good too! ❤

    • Kristin says:

      Checking with my library is a good idea! It looks like they have Books on CDs, but not digital downloads. I wonder if the CDs are protected or if I could rip the files to my computer.

  2. I know a few people (including my parents) that totally rip CDs from the library….fingers crossed it works out for you too!

Leave a Reply

