Never too late for a New Challenge

Hi all,

I know I promised to update with a new challenge on Friday (and I’m sure you’ve all been weak with anticipation!), but, in all honesty, I’ve had a really hard time coming up with what my new challenge should be. When I started this blog, I made a whole list of things I wanted to tackle, but for some reason, none of them seemed right for right now, ya know?

Things have been going surprisingly well since I started Weight Watchers. I’m not having nearly as much trouble staying within my points as I would have expected (I’ve even been under by a point or 2 a few days). I’ve even found that the more fruits and vegetables I eat (which are “free” on the program) the more I want them. Today I consciously chose carrots over chocolate. That is a victory if I’ve ever heard one!

After much hemming and hawing, I’ve finally settled on my new challenge: limit my time in front of the TV to 1 hour a day on weekdays, and 3 hours a day on weekends.

You may recall from this previous post that my roommate and I were planning to get rid of our cable. Well, that day has come and it’s made me realize exactly how pathetic I am. Yes, we bought a digital antenna and a Roku box for internet streaming, but the only channels we can pick up are Fox and Ion and the options on Hulu Plus and Amazon Prime seem almost overwhelming to me.

What do you mean I can’t plop myself down infront of an HGTV marathon for 6 hours after work?! What am I supposed to do??

So, while I teach myself to tell my tv what I want to watch (instead of just channel-surfing until I come upon something ‘ok’) I’m going to teach myself to depend on it less. So far, the hardest thing is the quiet. Luckily, the magic little Roku box also links to my Pandora stations.

Another really awesome thing about the Roku, is that it has a surprising amount of fitness channels! Today, I found a Cardio Kickbox class that totally kicked my butt! It was an hour long and I could only finish the first 30 minutes! Then I watched 1 episode of Biggest Loser while I ate my dinner. Ironic? Perhaps.

How much TV do you watch on a daily basis? If you’re not a TV watcher, what’s your favorite way to pass the time?

Today’s check-in:

Goal: Watch less TV

Sleep: I was exhausted last night, but couldn’t sleep. Does that ever happen to anyone else?
Exercise: Butt Kicking Kickboxing!
Food: String cheese, banana, pretzels, tomato basil soup (with a little melted cheese), Triscuits, clementine, hot chocolate, an apple, pork chop, roasted acorn squash & sweet potato, green beans, carrots w/ veggie dip.
Water: Excellent!
Vitamins: Nada
Weather: Grey and gloomy

How I feel: Tired, although the kickboxing was energizing.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Never too late for a New Challenge

  1. I am a tv junkie. Even if I’m not watching it’s almost always on in the background. Lucikly my weakness is the news, so at least I’m learning what’s going on in the world. I feel your pain with your addiction!

Leave a Reply

