Potluck Survival Strategy

It’s beginning to look… a tiny bit like Christmas. I was getting a little sad that I haven’t really gotten into the Christmas spirit this year, so I decided to pick up a few little decorations to spruce up our apartment.

Our Christmas Not-A-Tree

I picked up some horribly fake pre-lit garland, a box of cheap bulbs (hung with paperclips, no less) and 2 pages of holiday window clings and suddenly I feel much better.

Now I just have to wrap about 8,000 more gifts and I’ll be good to go!

I can’t decide if I’m proud or kicking myself for starting up Weight Watchers right before the holidays, but regardless now that I’ve lost 5 lbs I’m determined try to stay on plan over the holidays. Or at least be slightly better than I would any other year.

Of course, that means I have to survive countless lunches, dinners and and an endless stream of sweets. My first big challenge is a holiday potluck at work, and to get things started, I’m bringing the world’s worst (and most delicious) mac ‘n cheese. Ha – good planning, Kristin.

So, here’s my potluck plan of attack:

  • Make only one plate –  only take the stuff I really want to eat.
  • Take only one spoonful of the bad stuff. Just enough to satisfy the need to indulge.
  • If they’re available, sample dips on veggies instead of chips.
  • Avoid bread & rolls.
  • Someone will bring a green salad. Make sure to take a healthy portion.
  • Don’t waste calories on beverages.
  • Choose only 1 dessert.
  • Track as well as I can.

How do you handle potlucks and holiday eating?

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Potluck Survival Strategy

  1. I would usually skip out on them if at all possible. Honestly, if I take one bite my willpower is destroyed and I’ll go all out. Most recently my department ordered in pizza. I made a Lean Cuisine pizza in the microwave and enjoyed it with the group. I didn’t feel deprived because I had the same thing as them, but I was able to do it much healthier!

  2. EAT BEFORE YOU GO!!!

    Also, thanks for posting the decoration pic! We haven’t decorated yet and that is a bit of incentive to get on and do something! Good luck with the holidays! Merry Christmas!

    • Kristin says:

      I’m glad my sad decorations got someone else motivated…maybe motivated to do better than I did LOL.

      That’s a good tip! I did eat a banana about an hour before lunch today, and I did pretty well…until I got to dessert. I did not stick to my “one item only” rule, but I logged everythign and I’m moving on. Merry Christmas to you, too!

Leave a Reply

