Lessons Learned

4 Things I learned about myself this holiday that I probably already knew:

 1. Just keep logging!

I cannot stop logging my food. Not even for one day. Not even if I have no idea how many points that brownie actually was. Not even if I’m pretty sure I ate a million points and I promise to do better tomorrow. I haven’t logged anything in 6 days. I told myself I could have 2 days off for the holiday – Christmas day and New Year’s eve. Now, I’m not the greatest at math, but last time I checked, 2 does not equal 6.

2. Water, Water, Everywhere!

My body holds onto water like crazy. On Christmas day I had a few slices of bacon and a piece of ham (along with some other questionable items) and the next day my lips are chapped, my fingers are swollen, and the scale says I’ve gained 5 pounds! I always need to have a glass of water close by, but especially when my food choices are questionable.

 3. I (don’t) like to move it, move it.

I need to make time to exercise. Period. End of story. Joe and I swore that we would go for a walk every day while he was here and did we? No. It’s cold, so we mostly sat on our butts and ate. I have also promised myself 4 times that I would get up in the morning and go to the gym. Yeah right. Unfortunately, with classes starting back up and my schedule the way it is, mornings probably will be the best time for me to squeeze in a work out, so I’m just going to have to suck it up and deal.

  4. If you build it, they will come.

Or, if it’s there, I will eat it.  I. Have. No. Self. Control. If I can see it, I will eat it. And even sometimes if I can’t. Doesn’t matter if I’m hungry or not, or even if I want whatever it is or not. Thank goodness I managed to escape my mother’s house without any leftover cookies this year! I have mostly tackled this demon when it comes to spending money. It used to burn holes in my pocket, but now I can spend more responsibly. Hopefully this is a good sign for my eating future.

Because a new year is all about learning…and re-learning…and re-learning…Right? 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Lessons Learned

  1. ihavetriedit says:

    I’m with you on the “if it’s there I will eat it.” I no longer buy ANY sort of tempting food (this includes cheese!) It’s easy to resist temptation if it’s just not there!

Leave a Reply

