Join the 500 Mile Challenge!

Man! Being a grad student really stinks! Even though it’s only been a few weeks since the end of the last semester, it seems that I had completely forgotten how awful it is to work a full day and then have to sit in class. I have 2 classes a week, and my in my second, my Professor showed up 10 minutes late and then held us until the very. Last. Second. Of the class period. Add on my 45 minute drive, and it was 10pm by the time I stepped into my apartment. Let’s just say that Thursday morning when I got into work (very late) I was greeted by a chorus of “Kristin, you look very tired…”.

 Here begins the semester of endless reading!

 It’s too bad I don’t have the focus to read scholarly articles on the treadmill. My challenge on my 25 by 25 list to walk/run 500 miles by June 30th is already kicking my butt! If you’re curious where I came up with this crazy idea, it’s actually part of a Weight Watchers challenge to do 1000 miles in 2012, and my birthday conveniently marks the halfway point. I originally decided to try to do it just with walking and running, but a lot of my fellow challengers are also biking. I think I’m going to add some biking into my routine as well since I’m already 30 miles behind schedule! In the end, the point of this whole challenge (at least for me) is to motivate me to exercise more regularly, regardless of the format.

 I’ve also just started up the Couch to 5k program for the 3rd or 4th time. I forgot how hard it was! I’ve never been very successful before – I think the farthest I’ve gotten is the 3rd week. But this time, I know that the faster I can move, the more miles I can earn! Hopefully that will be enough motivation to stick with it. Part of me wonders if I’m just not meant to be a runner, because I do find the program incredibly challenging. Deep down I know that’s a silly thought and that as I get into better shape, the easier it will become. For now, I think I’m going to do each workout for 2 weeks instead of one. I think that it will make me feel more confident about moving into a new stage when the time comes.

 If anyone is interested in joining me in this challenge, I would love to have someone else to cheer on!

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Join the 500 Mile Challenge!

  1. Pingback: KISS Me, Housekeeping! | Keeping It SO Simple!

Leave a Reply

