Stick to Your Resolutions: Ten Minute Tomato Soup

On Sunday, I did day3, week 1 of the Couch to 5K program. I thought I might die. My legs were killing me, I couldn’t catch my breath, and I almost didn’t finish. Almost. I thought this stuff was supposed to get easier! About 35 minutes on the treadmill, I was ready to be done, but I’d only logged 2 miles so I hopped on an exercise bike. Quite frankly, it felt like cheating. It only took me 8 minutes to get another 3 miles and I hardly broke a sweat (aside from the fact that I was dripping wet from “running”).

Even though it felt wrong, I think the break was probably a good thing. After an easy day on Saturday and taking Sunday off completely, today is the first day since Tuesday that I haven’t been stiff and sore. We’ll see how the gym treats me tonight.

One thing that was super easy and not guilt-inducing is this delicious tomato soup I made this weekend! How’s that for a transition, eh?

What made this soup really easy is that I used 2 cans of Red Gold Culinary Classics tomatoes, which upon further investigation I discovered are currently being sold exclusivly at Meijer (I hereby solomnly swear that Red Gold did not pay me for this endorsement, nor did they give me any free product. Though if they would like to, I would happily accept). For those of you who aren’t familiar with Meijer, it’s a Michigan based superstore much like a Super Wal Mart. Their stores are located mostly in the Mid-West.

I used the “Chef’s Cut Tomatoes with Basil in Puree” and if you don’t have a Meijer near you, any similar product will do.

Pictured here with a Turkey BLT on homemade wheat bread. Please excuse my fine china.

Ten Minute Tomato Soup
serves 4, 4 WW points per serving

Ingredients
2 32 oz cans of Red Gold Chefs Cut Tomatoes with Basil (or similar), undrained
2 cloves of minced garlic
1 tsp of Garam Masala (if you don’t have this wonderfully versatile Indian spice mix handy, some ground ginger and cinnamon will add a similar zing to this soup)
Additional fresh or dried basil, if desired
1-2 Tbsp brown sugar, or to taste*
1/2 cup half and half

Instructions
Combine tomatoes, garlic, garam masala, basil and brown sugar (I’d start with 1 tbsp) in a sturdy stock pot or sauce pan. Heat over medium heat until it comes to a low simmer. About 10 minutes.

Using an immersion blender (or your blending tool of choice), puree the soup to your desired consistency**.

Stir in the half and half and the remaining brown sugar if needed.

Notes:
*Points were calculated using 2tbsp of brown sugar
**This soup, even after being pureed, will have a slightly chunkier texture than canned soup.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

