February = Financial Doom?

So, do you want the good news or the bad news first?

Let’s start with the good news! As of February 1, 2012 my employee status at work has changed from Non-Exempt (hourly) to Exempt (salary). Now, I know what you might be thinking, but sadly I did not get a raise. My title changed, but my duties are all exactly the same. In fact, this will have little to no effect on my day to day life except that I now get twice as much vacation time! Yesss! The other big change is that I will be going from getting paid bi-weekly to monthly.

And that’s where the trouble starts. Because the transition happened in the middle of a bi-weekly pay period, my finances for February are going to be all kinds of wonky. I will get one more bi-weekly paycheck on the 10th, but it will only cover 6 business days. My next check won’t come until the 29th. Here’s a calendar that better illustrates the financial black hole of doom:

Thankfully, I have more than enough in savings to get me through the tail end of the month, but it’s just a bummer that my savings is going to have to take a hit two months in a row. Hopefully (if I ever sit down and finish my taxes) I’ll get a refund that will help make up some of the difference. I’m also going to rely on my pantry and freezer reserves as much as possible during that time to keep my grocery costs down, and I’ll try to keep eating out to a minimum. I was also hoping to beef up my workout wardrobe a little bit, but it looks like it might be wise to hold off on that until March. For being a short month, February sure is giving me a lot of sass!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to February = Financial Doom?

  1. Michelle says:

    Getting paid monthly sounds scary! Goo that you have enough to cover it.

Leave a Reply

