Motivation

Everybody needs a little motivation, but some people like me need a lot. And seriously, what is more motivating than STICKERS?! That’s right, ladies and gents, at the ripe old age of 25, I made myself a good ol’fashioned sticker chart to motivate myself to exercise regularly. So far, so good!

Here’s the deal:

  • Little smileys = walking the dog
  • Big smileys = 30 minutes of moderate to vigorous exercise (outside of dog walks)
  • Stars = strength training

The reward for my efforts is getting to eat out. See what I did there? Encouraging regular activity while discouraging bad and expensive eating habits. Tricky tricky. For every meal I earn I need to complete 10 dog walks and 4 strength days OR 3 “Bonus” workouts. So far, it’s been working a little backwards, because I’ve been eaten out twice, and both times before actually earning it, but that’s definitely given me a push to stay on track!

Like today, for instance, after a week of acting like fall, Michigan decided it should still be summer for a bit longer. Roxy doesn’t tolerate the heat well, and at 92 degrees, I knew we wouldn’t make it very far if I tried to take her for our daily walk. So I went without her. I clocked a half-hour on the elliptical at the gym, then took our usual stroll around the block sans-dog. Wasn’t as fun, but it served it’s purpose.

I’m also considering going a running group. Our local running specialty store hosts several, including one targeted at beginning runners. They run together once a week with a coach who provides a “lesson” with information that new runners might find useful. I think it would be really good for me, but I’m a little nervous. Ann Arbor is full of running snobs and I generally hate exercising in groups. Has anyone ever joined anything like this? What did you think?

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Motivation

  1. Pingback: Happy New Year! | Keeping It SO Simple!

Leave a Reply

