New Year, Small Changes

The first full week of the new year has come to a close, and I have to say that it was a pretty good one for me. The first few are always the easiest, when I’m still bright-eyed and full of ambition, now I just have to keep it up!

I’ve been doing a few easy things and one really hard one to make my 2013 goals happen

Easy-peasy

LoseIt!1. My boyfriend and I have both been using LoseIt (me on the web and him on his phone) to track calories and try to lose some weight. We both love it. It’s stupid easy. It’s got some pretty cool reports that show you just enough, but not so much that I obsess over it. We actually started a few weeks before Christmas, and out of all the days that I’ve logged (which I’ll admit is not all of them) the only day I went over my calorie allowance was the day of my co-workers famous annual eggnog party. This isn’t my first rodeo. I tossed the junk food in the house, have been cooking more, and doing well! I’ve lost 4 lbs since the new year. Too bad I gained 5 over the holidays…

vitamins2. I have been taking my vitamins every. single. day. I finally dumped out all the horse pills I had laying around – most of them were expired since I rarely bothered to take them – and switched to GUMMY VITAMINS! Seriously, there is nothing better than getting to eat gummy bears before my morning shower. It’s awesome! I take a multivitamin, vitamin D (cuz this is Michigan. We won’t see the sun again until June) and Fish Oil. The one big change I’ve noticed is that dry, itchy winter skin has drastically improved. Buyers beware – while tasty, the gummy version of your multivitamin may be missing a few things you’re used to getting, most notably iron and calcium. Not a big deal for me, but for some it might be.

Not so Easy

I have drawn up a plan to get myself exercising 6 days a week. Now, before I freak myself out, I am NOT going to be one of those folks who all of a sudden thinks I want to spend 2 hours a day in the gym. No no. It’s actually pretty simple: 3 days of running and 3 days of strength training with every work-out being between 20 and 40 minutes. I’m doing the Couch to 5K program for the 18-millionth time, but this time I’m condensing it to 6 weeks instead of 9 so I won’t get bored. That should also get me to a place where I can suffer through enjoy a run with my Man next time I get to see him. For strength, I’m doing a mix of a “Body Sculpt” class, Jillian Michael’s 30 Day Shred and some free work with hand weights. Of course, I’m using a handy-dandy spreadsheet to keep track of everything!

Exercise Tracker

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

