2013, Brought to you by Cauliflower

I love food. I love cooking it, eating it, looking at it, dreaming about it…I just love food! I am constantly enthralled by the vibrant photos splashed across TasteSpotting and I more cookbooks and issues of food magazines than I can count. And yet…I tend to cook the same things over and over.

It’s easy for anyone to fall in a rut, but especially when you’re cooking for one. When I find something that’s easy yet tasty enough that I don’t mind eating it for a few days, I stick to it! However, as part of my quest to eat better and cook more, I am trying to cook something new every week.

Lately, I’ve been unusually drawn to…cauliflower? You’re not a fan? Guess what – me either! But the awesome thing about cauliflower is that it’s low calorie (so you can eat a lot!) and it is a really nice canvas for a lot of yummy flavors.

Here are some of my new Cauliflower-y friends of the year. Hope you enjoy! Note: I broke the cardinal rule of blogging and did not take any pictures while I was cooking in the last week, so I’m going to post links and my (slight) modifications to these recipes.

Curried Cauliflower and Rice Casserole

I love Kalyn’s Kitchen! She has affectionately been named the Casserole Queen and she totally deserves that title! If you’re looking for a wholesome 1-dish type meal, start here! Now, I know what you’re thinking – that looks like broccoli to me – and you’re right. The original recipe calls for broccoli, but I’ve had it both ways, and I prefer it with cauliflower as it has a milder flavor. Since I’m cooking for one, I usually cut this recipe in half (only do one layer) and use only mayo instead of the mayo-sour cream mixture Kalyn recommends to avoid having a partially used container of sour cream knocking around in my fridge.

Cauliflower, Squash and Bean Enchiladas

I was skeptical when I saw this recipe, but skeptical in a “that’s so crazy it might be delicious” kind of way. And. It. Is. The only change that I made was I subbed butternut squash for the sweet potato and then I put it in enchiladas. Holy cow, the filling was delicious. I couldn’t stop picking at it when I was putting the enchiladas together! Genius I tell you, genius…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

