I’ve Got the Urge!

..to shop! I really don’t know what it is. It could be all the stores getting out their spring collections (WAY too early, btw. Winter is just getting started here in Michigan) or it could be my coworker who just left for Florida urging us to look out for swimsuits for her over the last few weeks, but I am just itching to buy some new clothes.

To help fight the urge, effective today, I have put an indefinite freeze on the purchase of new clothes until I need a smaller size.  At the rate I’m going, I feel like it might be next winter before I get there! Ok, ok, not really, but it does seem to be crawling by! Based on my past experience with weight loss, it takes losing about 10 lbs for me to go down a pants size. Between losing, gaining over the holidays and re-losing, I have effectively lost ONE measly pound since December 8th. That’s almost 2 months! I should be almost in needing-new-clothes mode by now!

Sigh. I know that slow and steady wins the race. I know that losing one pound a week is the healthy and responsible thing to do (and what I’ve been doing since Christmas). I know that I would not be able to realistically maintain weight loss of much more than that, but darn it, it would be nice, wouldn’t it? In the meantime, I’ll just have to turn to shoes and bags to fill my shopping desires!

How do you keep yourself motivated when it feels like you’re making progress at a snails pace?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

