NSV + What I Ate Wednesday

I had another NSV yesterday! 2 for 1! Yesterday in my Body Sculpt class, our instructor split us in to two groups, and he totally put me in the “no modifications” group. I was picked as one of the “fit” kids! That never happens to me!

I’ve really come to love this class. The first week, I thought I was going to die and really was not sold on the instructor, but he’s grown on me and I find myself really looking forward to it. I’m going to miss it when it’s over! I’m still sore every week, but it’s the kind of sore that makes me feel strong. Are you strength training yet?!

Anyway, on to What I Ate Wednesday!

 1) Creamy Dijon Chicken

It’s happened, guys. I’ve got my first flop. This was only “meh”. I baked this in the oven over baby yukon gold potatoes instead of making it on the stove. The chicken was pretty good, but the sauce is pretty bland. I won’t be making this recipe again. Pro-tip: when you bake chicken in the oven, put it under the broiler for the last 10 minutes. Gives it a grilled taste!

 

 2) Tomato and White Bean Soup

This was loosely based off of this recipe, but it’s different enough that I’ll spell it out for you here. It’s super quick and easy! This soup is one that gets better the next day. The starch from the pasta and the beans thicken it as it cools, giving it an almost creamy consistency It’s. So. Good! This is actually the second time I’ve made this yummy soup this month.

Ingredients:
2 cups small shape pasta (uncooked)
1 cup white wine
1 Tbsp sherry vinegar
1 can diced tomato (with basil if you can find it)
2 cloves of garlic, minced
3 cups chicken broth
1 Tbsp tomato paste
2 pinches red pepper flakes
1 can white beans, drained but not rinsed
2 large handfulls of torn baby spinach
Dried or fresh basil to taste

Makes 3-4 servings.

Directions:

While the pasta cooks, in a medium stock pot, combine wine, vinegar, tomatoes and bring to a boil. Turn down to medium heat and let simmer for 10 minutes.

When the pasta is cooked (I like to reduce the cooking time by one minute or so since it will continue to simmer in the soup) add it and the remaining ingredients to the pot. Simmer for an additional 5-10 minutes.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

