Just Run.

This has been sort of a strange week for me. Things are slow right now at work, so my days feel like they are c-r-a-w-l-i-n-g by. The weather has been grey and gloomy and to add to my misery, I haven’t been sleeping well at night either. Tired Kristin + Bored Kristin = Cranky Kristin.

In the past, my weight loss efforts would typically fall with my mood, but somehow I’ve managed to have a really good week in that department, despite my less-than-favorable mood.

For those of you who are familiar with the Couch to 5k program, I successfully completed the dreaded Week 5 Day 3 Work out aka running for 20 mintues. No breaks. Ok, ok, fine…so I did take a minute or two break somewhere in the

middle, but I made up for it by running 2 minutes extra at the end! And you know what? It wasn’t that hard. My pace was slower than I wanted (a little over a 13 minute mile) but I made it through with relative ease.

I have to say, it was really empowering! I feel like my relationship with C25K might be coming to a close. Now that I know I can run 20 minutes I think I’d rather build on that and gradually add a few minutes at a time than go back to doing intervals again. My goal is to reach 30 minutes of nonstop jogging. Once I can do that with ease, I can start working on my speed.

Last night while on the treadmill, I listened to a 15 minute podcast, and then finished out my run with some of my running music. I totally ignored the tv in front of me, and as usually had a magazine over the timer. How do you pass the time if you run on the treadmill?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

